don't miss it

ImageDo you remember when you were a kid where taking a bath early in the morning is such an issue? I remember before my mom would literally drag me into the bathroom and, if necessary, bathe me. Taking a bath early in the morning was an agony for me. It was too cold for me. I was six then, so don’t get the idea of me still having the same problem, hehe. My mom taught me a trick about it. According to her, only the first gush of water is the coldest. The succeeding ones are not. So the trick is to ‘miss’ that one by pouring it behind you. Honestly? I believed it. Yes, its stupid but I can’t skip bath everyday so I just bought it. So every morning, for almost 6 years, during my bath, I pour the first bucket of water behind me.

You may find that funny but most people are still doing it when dealing with pain. Most people would just let the first gush “miss” them and hope that they will escape pain. Most of us, if not all, deny pain. Believe me, I still don’t have any idea how to deal with it, if I do “alam ko na ang sikreto ng buhay (I would know life’s secret) “. But one thing I could assure you there’s no preset way on dealing with pain. If there is then that would be the most abused drug in the world. Wrestle pain in your own little. But don’t run from it because you never can. Getting through pain in your own way is the right way.

Oftentimes, pain is the shortest way to relief.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “don't miss it

  1. [deleted]

    Wise words from someone who claims to have “been there and done that.” Heck, I just wish it were as easy as avoiding that first gush of cold 6-am water, I mean, this: dealing with pain. But, you see, joefort, there are different degrees of pain. Some pain makes everything black, wizened, rutted, petrified, by-tracked, and ruined; the hours become cruel, ambiguous, solitary – and the voices of consolation hang silent in the crass dark.

    I’d rather have a gush of freezing water that turns you blue with cold every morning of my life — from birth to death — than face the pain that wracks your entire being. While I agree that people should wrestle pain in their own little way; I also disagree with you, my friend. Oftentimes pain is NOT the shortest way to relief. Sometimes maybe, once, twice, thrice; but no, not oftentimes like you said.

    ngiti naman dyan. 😉

  2. Joefort

    Hehe, at last we something to argue about, :).

    Then what do you propose? What is the shortest way to relief "oftentimes"?.

    I will not claim that it's the easiest way but I believe that it’s the most probable way. If we have just better understanding what this pain is all about then this place will be a better place to live. It may sound masochistic but I believe its best choice of a cheap bargain.

  3. [deleted]

    "If we have just better understanding what this pain is all about then this place will be a better place to live." hmmm…let me put it this way: someone precious once told me that if you don't not know what to do with the pain, then at least figure out what NOT to do with it. Sounds familiar?

    You, my friend, are guilty of argumentum circulus in probando. In other words, I win. I rest my case. Yna=2; Joefort=ziltch

  4. [deleted]

    oops… typo. what i meant was: if you don't know what to do with the pain, then at least figure out what NOT to do with it. 😉 OC. super OC.

  5. Joefort

    Hehe.. ok, lets not argue, sweet.

  6. [deleted]

    one last. I just remembered what the shortest way to relief is oftentimes. It is, my friend, blueberry cheesecake. Cheesecake has healing powers. Temporary relief, yes, but it beats going around in a sullen, crabby mood the entire day.

    In pain? Ha! Bring in the cheesecake!

Leave a Reply

