fring!

fring I recently discovered this app called fring. Basically, it’s a “mobile Internet service & community that enables you to access & interact with your social networks on-the-go, make free calls and live chat with all your fring, Skype®, MSN® Messenger, Google Talk™, ICQ, SIP, Twitter, Yahoo!™ and AIM®* friends using your handset’s Internet connection rather than costly cellular airtime minutes“. With just a few hours of using it, I must say it’s awesome! I had an application like this before called IM+. It was good but not free. I tried the 30-day evaluation copy but I was too lazy to purchase the actual product. I used to have it on my iPaq 6325 until it was stolen.

Right now I’m using Samsung i600 with Windows Mobile 6.0. Great smartphone but there’s no built-in IM here (ugh), so I tried Skype Mobile but it’s not compatible. I also tried Yahoo! Go but only version 2.0 (current release is 3.0 beta) is compatible with my phone and this version did not include the messenger. So I sadly retreated to Yahoo! Mobile Messenger which is so frustrating because you have to refresh the page to check for new messages. My main IM app right now is Yahoo! Messenger so finding an app that support it is the main consideration. Recently, I’m thinking of dumping it for Skype. Yahoo! services suck these days. Yahoo! Photos was shut down. Then they also pulled the plug for 360, which was my only social networking site. Damn it, Jerry what’s happening! If selling the company to Microsoft would mean better service, then I’m all for it.

Anyway, I can’t believe it took me this long to learn about this software (though it’s still in beta)! So far it’s really good. UI is well-polished, elements are well placed  – It’s perfect for a smartphone with QWERTY keyboard like mine. I like the cartoon-ish touch here. It’s also snappy and responsive, almost like you’re on a PC. And here’s the real treat, it supports video calling!

So I think I’m gonna stick on this one. Anything other than Yahoo mobile messenger is better. And if you have a Smartphone of Pocket PC you should get this one. I highly recommend it! iPhone users, fring is also available for you and it’s the first VoIP app for your phone, click here.

Update:

To install fring on your phone:

  1. Fire up your phone’s web browser to http://www.fring.com .
  2. Click the ‘Download’ link. The site will automatically detect what kind of phone you’re using and will give you the proper installer.
  3. Follow the installation process
  4. After the installation, you will need to register and subscribe to the services that you want to use (e.g. Yahoo!, Gtalk, MSN, etc.)
Leave a comment

Filed under fring!, Samsung i600, Tech, Web 2.0, Windows Mobile

Leave a Reply

