zune revolution

I know it’s a very tacky title, it’s a usual flame bait for fanboi’s around but I don’t care because I have just deployed two XNA games to my Zune! Translation: My Zune 80 can now play games. Before you  react with “so what my <put your mp3 player’s name here> can play games years ago“, hear me out first. It’s not just about the game, XNA is a platform. It allows developers to create games and applications for Xbox 360 and Zune. So expect a lot of applications that will be developed for these devices. Since basically its .NET, expect a lot of .NET developers leverage their skills to develop applications for Zune.

It’s a CTP release so it’s not yet stable though I haven’t encountered any hiccups while installing it. Here, I took a few shots:

 

PIC-0026

PIC-0027

PIC-0028

PIC-0030

PIC-0031

If you’re an early adopter like me, give it a try. Here’s a link on how to do it. If not, wait an official release from Microsoft.

P.S. About the title, I believe Zune is now gaining critical mass in the PMP arena. Its features are starting to mature. The “social” aspect of Zune is now being realized. I’d give it a year or two.

2 Comments

Filed under .NET, Microsoft, Tech, XNA, Zune

2 responses to “zune revolution

  1. Rom

    it’s really working! 🙂 nice!

    i’ve heard that after exiting the game, the device reboots, does this thing hapen to yours too?

  2. jhoeforth

    Yeah, it does. Kinda annoying but it’s understandable since it’s a preview release. I hope they fix this soon.

Leave a Reply

