zune fixed!

Ok, I’ll admit, I had trouble connecting my Zune 80 to my Desktop PC (with Windows Vista SP1) for almost 2 weeks (I know that’s quite a long time). The problem is every time I try to connect my device, Vista is able to detect it, however, installing its driver fails.

I scoured the Internet just to find a solution, I’ve been to forums, tech sites with no success. I tried so many things like rebuilding my INFCACHE.1, Manually installing the drivers, completely wiping out the Zune software  and even resetting my Zune device but my PC is still unable to recognize my Zune. I suspected that it’s connected with my USB drivers because I had the same problem with my USB devices. Rebuilding the INFCACHE.1 did fixed this problem however but not with my Zune. Until I found this really, really weird solution from http://www.technologyquestions.com from a forum user named Davis (Thanks man!). I’m pasting his solution here since the forum thread is really long.

Hey all,

I realise this is an older thread, but I found a solution after several hours searching the net.

I am currently running Vista Home Premium, 2GB Ram, etc…

I was unable to use USB Flash Drives, as when vista tried to install the drivers, it would come up with an error similar to: cannot find the file specified.

To fix this and install the drivers, I had to do the following:

  1. Open Windows Explorer, then go to the following address line: C:\Windows\inf\setupapi.dev.log…double click
  2. This should open up Notepad..or equivelant.
  3. Go to the bottom of the log and press Ctrl + F, and search upward for ‘cannot find the file specified’
  4. I few lines above that you should see ‘SourceFile – [FileName]’ and just above that ‘SourcePath – [Path]. You will find that if you go to that path, the specified file will not be there.
  5. If you then go to C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ and find the specified file…copy it and paste into C:\Windows\inf
  6. When you try to install the drivers again, (using device manager -> reinstall drivers) direct the wizard to C:\Windows\inf and make sure ‘include subfolders’ is checked, and it should say drivers have been installed.

Hope this helps

And it worked like magic! When I plugged my Zune, Vista automatically installed all of the necessary drivers.

1 Comment

Filed under Microsoft, Tech, Zune

One response to “zune fixed!

  1. Pingback: zune audiobooks « thirdrow

Leave a Reply

